This is an archive of the Dadamac.net website, as it was in 2015, it is no longer being updated.

Feelings about faceboook and twitter

Hi Vijay

I was interested to read your impressions of social media - and glad you enjoyed the twitter session. (All the teaching tips are in the Second Thursday twitter session achive. ) It was the first time we have tried anything quite like that - just a handful of us agreeing to meet onine to learn about something as specific as twitter (Second Thursday twitter session invitation).

Do you still like Facebook?

I joined Facebook because Chris Macrae often sent me information that I wanted to read - but increasingly he sent it through Facebook. For a while I just ignored information sent that way, but in the end I joined. Then I looked at Chris' list of friends - and was intersted to find people I knew.. so I looked at their friends and so on. But I never became an enthusiast. When I do go there it just seems too full of stuff that I really don't have time to plough through.

However now and again something does pull me back, and then I wonder if I should do a spring-clean, and chuck out all my facebook clutter to find what is useful/interesting. I have caught up on some interesting snippets of news from old friends and I have renewed contacts with people I had not connected with for some years, so i can see that facebook does have benefits.

I joined twitter because I was told I should, but then I had no idea what to do and where to go. I only began to understand the benefits after I met Andy. He started to demonstrate how twtter "works" for people (like him) who do really use it.  He also helped me to find my way around more.

I am glad that things worked out well and he was able to share what he knows with you online.

Pam

Interests: 
Open Letters: