This is an archive of the Dadamac.net website, as it was in 2015, it is no longer being updated.

Lots about learning

This week the dadamac learners group began to emerge - see Dadamac Learners - now we are eight

On Thursday I decided we were becoming a group, and I should do something about making it easy to communicate online. A shared space using posterous seemed a good idea. The first post at the dadamac learners posterous is by Ken Owino - Ken Owino is a Dadamac Learner I feel we are now on the way to becoming an online learning community.

By the time I went to Be Bettr on Friday and BETT 2011 on Saturday I was starting to feel confident in my new identity as a Dadamac Learner, with an emerging group of other Dadamac Learners

Interesting things I saw on Friday and Saturday and hope to learn more about include

  • The Ebook Library - for when such library provision reaches down to smaller organisations
  • Acumen Mobile  - for helping our friends in Africa to read websites etc more easily from their smart phones
  • Radiowaves    - connecting young people's stories online  - reminded me of the work we did with Steve Thompson  linking chldren at Fantsuam with UK schools and sharing photos. However radio waves looks like there is more in the way of video sharing - so probably far too bandwidth demanding for the Nigerian school-chidren and school teachers we connect with.

One of the reasons I went to BETT was to see the latest from Stephen Heppell at the Visual Learning  stand. Pupils were demonstrating their work and I particularly liked the way that the pupils were collaborating in groups and had been producing videos to help with their revision.

I learned useful lessons there - not just from the dis[pay by the pupils, and discussion with their teacher, but also from what I learned about online training for teachers taking up headships - lots of relevance to  the emerging community of dadamac learners.

Looking back it has been an excellent learning week for my first week as a declared dadamac learner