This is an archive of the Dadamac.net website, as it was in 2015, it is no longer being updated.

Making haste slowly

So - what's happening next?

Diary dates - with more links at the end of the blog

Sunday is another Coalition of the Willing online meeting - for the matching project

Ben Carson and I are hoping Monday will be a possible day to meet up.

I will try harder to get to School of Everything Unplugged this week  - Fred is leading the session (though "leading the session" is probably an overformal description of the unplugged sessions).

Reducing the information bottleneck

I'm trying hard to increase the accessability of what goes on in the background at dadamac. This is so that I can be less of an information bottleneck. I want to make it easier for other people to dip in, find information and connections for themselves, and become active members of the dadamac community in whatever way suits them.

Dadamac.net vision 

The vision behind dadamac.net is that it will become a virtual "home/office/study-space/meeting-place" for people who choose to be part of the dadamac community. Nikki and I "moved in" first - and it's been a bit like moving into a physical space (on a limited budget);

  • making use of what it is to hand
  • gradually collecting up things that are more to our liking
  • deciding the right places to put things so we can find them easily and use them them effectively

Making it happen

So, here at dadamac.net we're collecting information up, moving it  around, setting up work flows that suit us, and generally trying to make this space comfortable for ourselves - so that it will also be comfortable and welcoming for others.

As we've been going along we've been explaining things to Andy so he can help us to make dadamac.net the space we awant it to be - although I'm not sure he'd call our descriptions "explaining". Our explanations don't come in clearly structured techno-speak - what we give him is more like an ongoing commentry about an emergent wish list.

The making haste slowly bit

I'm planning to make haste slowly over the coming week and for some time to come (and I realise that's what I've been doing ever since I got involved in all of this, ten years ago, through knowing the late Peter Adetunji Oyawale - small steps - but a considerable journey).

I am trying to make sure that whatever I do now, I will do it while thinking of the dadamac community as well as myself. This means that as I am finding, using, or generating information that I find useful, I will be trying to make more of it accessible to others in the dadamac community.

In the longer term this should be a win-win strategy - in time, as the community grows, and the sturctures improve,  I hope more of us will be adding content in ways that help ourselves and each other.

In the shorter term - well - this approach will probably slow me down, because it will involve extra work. That's a bit of a disappointment as I am looking forward to nurturing the dadamac learners and spending more time with new people in my network - but if I can make the dadamac.net space work the way I want it to, then we will all see the benefit - and working together will get much easier..

More about the people and groups mentioned in this blog: