This is an archive of the Dadamac.net website, as it was in 2015, it is no longer being updated.

Overheard on the 227 - Thanks Michael Rosen

I read a book by Michael Rosen which illustrated that there is poetry in everyday language - if you listen out for it. So I listened - and sure enough - I heard some as I was travelling on the 227 bus. It was late on a Thursday afternoon. Two weary women were sitting in front of me, chatting to each other and I couldn't help hearing what they said.

When I got off the bus I wrote down their words so I wouldn't forget.

The first section was spoken by one woman; the second was the response of her companion.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Next time,
When I come back,
I'll be a man.

They say
"You can do it!"

Like you were born like it...
Like...
"You can do all the work!"

Next time
I'll be a man.

~~~~~~
Next time,
When I come back,
I'll be a Rottweiler.

They get respect.
~~~~~~