This is an archive of the Dadamac.net website, as it was in 2015, it is no longer being updated.

The on-going effects of the Post-Election Violence

Today, during our weekly UK-Nigeria online meeting, John Dada informed us that he had hoped to introduce us to a young man who has a bullet lodged in his eye.

Ajala is one of the victims of Kafanchan's post-Election violence.

Although the sectarian attacks have ceased, there is still much humanitarian and economic aid that this large and impoverished rural community needs. John Dada and Fantsuam Foundation - a non partisan, experienced and respected NGO - do their best with what resources they receive, but helping Ajala is currently beyond their means. John Dada is used to the community turning to him in their time of trouble - that is how many (possibly all ) of the programmes at FF started. Ajala's mother is known to FF as she is a member of their Sickle Cell support group.

Like John, I do not know how best to help - other than by passing on Ajala's story. Should you have any suggestions or be able to offer any help, be it in the form of advice, treatment,contacts etc, kindly please email me at nicola.fishman@dadamac.net

(or send a direct Tweet to DadamacN )

Thank you everyone.

This afternoon, Emmanuel (Emma) a recent FF volunteer, interviewed Ajala.

Below is the transcipt of Ajala's story.

Name: Ajala Micheal
Address: Kaninkon Street, Kaduna State, Nigeria
Date of Incident: 18th April, 2011
Emma: What happened?
Ajala: There was an attack on the home in Kafanchan where I live. Armed people who had guns were shooting everywhere. During my attempt to escape I was shot in my right eye.
Emma: Was the eye X-rayed?
Ajala: Yes, from the Xray report the bullet hit the eye and up to now it has not been removed.
Emma: What did the Hospital say?
Ajala: I spent 2 weeks at Jos University Teaching Hospital (JUTH) where they did the surgery and said there was severe cornea damage and the tendency to regain sight with the affected eye is 25% probability.
Emma: Where else did you try?
Ajala: I also visited National Eye Centre Kaduna where they said the eye was completely damaged and suggested I replace it with artificial. But on meeting one of their consultants, Dr. Achi, he said though the cornea is damaged there was no need removing the eye, and he suggested I continue using the prescribed drugs.
Emma: Did they say if the bullet can be removed?
Ajala: At JUTH they said they don't want to go after the bullet so as not to cause more damage. While the Eye Centre Kaduna said they can, but that involves removing the eye, slicing it to search and remove the bullet, and the chances is that I'll loose sight with the affected eye.
Emma: Are there no other options?
Ajala: The only option is to undergo a CT scan to ascertain the actual position of the bullet rather than random search. In Jos this cost N50,000. 00, and I am unable to cover the cost.
Emma: How do you feel presently?
Ajala: The drugs (Eye drops) I use consistently help to reduce pain.
Emma: What has this cost you so far?
Ajala: Drugs alone have cost me N12,000. 00. In JUTH I was given free medical attention as a crisis victim, whereas in Eye Centre Kaduna I paid N5,000. 00. At the moment I use Maxidec which cost N700 and last me 2 weeks, Ciloxan which cost N1,500. 00 and last for 2 weeks, and Mydracell, which cost N1,000. 00 and also last for 2 weeks.
Emma: I am sorry for the pain and I wish you a quick recovery. We will spread this information to our friends to see if we can raise any help for you.