This is an archive of the Dadamac.net website, as it was in 2015, it is no longer being updated.

Pamela's Blog

Dadamac Holacracy Lite

Holacracy is a way of structuring an evolving organisation and Dadamac is an evolving organisation (see Why Dadamac knows where it's going - but can't say where it begins or ends ) I'm calling the current Dadamac version "Holacracy Lite", because we haven't learned how to implement the full version properly yet. To date I'm the person in Dadamac who knows most about Holacracy - and I've only been on the one-day, introductory course. There is much more to be learned. What I bring to Dadamac Holacracy Lite is my enthusiasm, the Holacracy Workshop Handbook that I brought back from...

Connecting with Dadamac? Start here.

This is written for people who connect with Dadamac and need to understand its roots and character, in connection with their developing roles. It's probably too detailed for casual readers. History Dadamac was never planned, it just "kind of happened" in response to needs, and requests, and interests. It has been largely self-funded, running alongside various day jobs. Much of its history can be found by dipping deep into www.dadamac.net . Dadamac got its name from the fact that John Dada and I (Pamela McLean) were collaborating in various ways and in those situations we needed to speak with one...

Via SumOfUs - Monsanto versus small farmers in Guatemala - get involved

SumOfUs writes - What happens when small farmers in Guatemala save seeds from one year to the next, as they have for centuries? They get up to four years in prison. That’s according to the “Monsanto Law,” which was recently struck down by Guatemala’s highest court. But now Monsanto is saying the law is required under free trade deals, and it's likely only a matter of time before it launches a wave of lawsuits to force Guatemala to give in. Developing nations like Guatemala have no chance against a corporate superpower like Monsanto -- that's why we're standing with Guatemala...

By Fola - My Story and Journey on ICT with Pamela McLean.

Photo: Fola's self-funded mini ICT centre at Ago-Are This post was sent to me by Folabi Sunday for sharing : My quest to the world of ICT knew no bound and it was borne out of passion since when i was a young boy with mum selling dead newspaper. While reading through these unsold magazines i found out that a life without information is shapeless and helpless. I discovered there avalanche of opportunities on internet. I got most of my problems solved reading those old unsold newspapers and that was 2003 and it continued till 2003 when i got my...

#Inequality, invisibility and Internet #BAD2014 #OCT16 #BlogAction14

It's Blog Action Day, and this year the topic is "Inequality", hence these thoughts on inequality and invisibility on the Internet: Hype about the Internet suggests that we live in a connected world. Hype about mobile phones suggests that, even where direct Internet connectivity is still problematic, smart phones are plugging any remaining gaps. Hype suggests that even in rural areas across the globe people can all be equally on line and equally visible to each other. Imagine if that was true. What if there was true equality of access to the Internet ? How would it be if grass-roots...

January 10th 2015 - Starting the New Year with Dadamac.

The seeds of this event were sown back in 2002 when two community projects in different parts of Nigeria linked up through occasional access to the Internet and a shared connection with a contact in London. The intervening years have given us tantalising glimpses of what the future might bring, if the world wide web becomes genuinely world-wide. Imagine being part of a completely interconnected global society, where people from different cultures and perspectives can rub minds, and collaborate on practical problem-solving, and where we can combine our social, intellectual and financial resources. In Dadamac we've sampled many elements of...

It's time to end this development disconnect

Effective development happens when financial capital and social capital are combined appropriately. Financial capital is needed, obviously, for things that need to be bought. But there are things that can't be bought. Social capital provides those things that can't be bought - reputation, trust, local knowledge and networks, fluency in local languages, understanding of (and being part of) local culture, vision based on insights about local opportunities and challenges. The disconnect Sadly, but understandably, there is often a disconnect between financial capital and social capital. The disconnect can be particularly challenging if the financial capital and the social capital are...

Starting up with the startup tribe

This is my update for activity in the "startup tribe" (connected with "The Escape School" and Escape the City ). Two weeks ago I did my Startup MBA course. Main learning points: The course was packed with information and personal experience, based on "The Lean Startup" and the business model canvas (so plenty that was familiar for me to hang the new information onto). I was interested in the similarities and differences between tech startups (the main emphasis for the course) and starting up a businesses with long term social impact (my focus). Learning is often to be valued above...

"What I want, what I really, really want" for #dadamac and me

Starting point - Dadamac and I are inextricably entwined. If there had not been a Pamela McLean there would not have been a Dadamac. Questions: The question is If I (or circumstance) separated Pamela McLean from Dadamac what would remain? Sub questions are: Would there be a Dadamac without me? (I hope so, but I want to ensure so) Does it matter? Does Dadamac have any value to anyone other than to me? Is it anything more than an absorbing and extravagant hobby that has taken over my life? Would there be a "me" without Dadamac? (Given how much it...

Doh! I need a #dadamac wiki

I've finally realised that I need a wiki. Here are five reasons why. When I write blogs I often want to refer to other dadamac.net information pages and blogs (my own and other peoples) but it takes a long time to find all the links and make them live. I often want to write stuff that "won't make sense on its own" - but it would make sense if it was able to somehow "nestle in context" I'm always being reprimanded for going off at tangents in my talking and thinking - but thoughts and ideas don't connect in a...

Pages