This is an archive of the Dadamac.net website, as it was in 2015, it is no longer being updated.

Pamela's Blog

Dadamac Knowledge Centre - Learning for Livelihoods

Some problems are the same world wide. Youth unemployment is one of them. What can young people do if there are no jobs for them? This is a problem that John Dada is planning to tackle at Fantsuam by providing accessible and affordable tertiary and vocational education for local youths. We have been "rubbing minds" on our vision for such a centre, and how it fits in with what we have done in that past, what is already on the ground, and our philosophy related to learning. We're calling it the Dadamac Knowledge Centre. Practical training and work experience. John...

Thursday ha-ha - will you be one of the one hundred?

Don't miss the chance to be included on Thursday September 26th. We know this works on a smaller scale - but will it work with 100? This is what you'll be joining: 100 people go online for one hour We have $1,000 to allocate - but only one hour to decide. The question is "What is the greatest social impact we can produce this coming week with the money available? Ideas on how to spend the money come from the 100 people. So you could get the $1,000 to implement your own idea. Certainly your opinion will influence where the...

Dadamac - rich in people

I'm rich in the people I know, As I think of them my heart lifts at their uniqueness, their mix of vitality, originality, big vision, stubborn determination, humour, curiosity, change-making, "amazing journeys made up of small steps", generosity of spirit, "imagination combined with deep realism", skills, knowledge, readiness-to-learn, wisdom, insights, and breadth of experience. I was asked.... Recently several people have wanted an idea of who I connect to and how, so I started to think about it. The list below is the result. Initially I thought of the individual people I value, but I was uncomfortable with the idea...

RSA, Venturists, and #LandscapeOfChange

Adam Lent writes about "Venturists" in his RSA blog A new type of entrepreneur is transforming our world for the better: the ‘Venturist’ . He paints a clear picture of "Venturists" and their typical mindset. As I was reading it I was thinking "I recognise that reality from my explorations in the Landscape of Change". So, with great appreciation to him for sharing the Venturist idea so clearly, I plan to explore some key features, and some similarities and differences. I won't describe LofC here now as I've written various blogs touching on Landscape of Change previously, and I'm gradually...

How to help Dadamac - From re-tweeting to mentoring

If you are wondering how to get involved with Dadamac in a practical way (possibly after reading For want of a nail" - Why a stronger Dadamac is urgently needed ) these suggestions are for you. I've started with the smallest possible involvement, and end with a request for mentors and organisational support. Please share with anyone who might be interested. For more information contact me through the contact form . Help with raising visibility on twitter or facebook If you use twitter or Facebook then you could help us to be seen by more people. Please tweet, re-tweet, like...

"For want of a nail" - Why a stronger Dadamac is urgently needed

In "One Network One World" Vinay Gupta explains complex ideas in simple terms, so I'm using his video to explain where Dadamac fits and why we need to magnify and accelerate its work. Vinay explains the urgency of taking action to raise local standards of living in the slums and rural areas of Africa. He also points to the role of information sharing in making this happen. I'm reminded of the rhyme: For want of a nail the shoe was lost. For want of a shoe the horse was lost. For want of a horse the rider was lost. For...

Vacancy - Are you our doctor?

If you are a medical doctor, registered with the Medical and Dental Council (MDC), and are seeking career fulfillment through service in poorly resourced rural communities - here is a unique opportunity for you. The organisation you'll work with Fantsuam Foundation is committed to empowering community members, particularly women, to find means of employment and income to meet their own development needs. We are working in 50 communities across 7 Local Government areas in Kaduna State, and over 5,000 individuals benefit from Fantsuam’s services every year. We estimate that over 200,000 people have benefited either directly or indirectly from Fantsuam...

Malaria - and why I need help in Dadamac

This post is about malaria and is also a request for help with what I do in Dadamac. Why malaria? Earlier this evening I phoned Graham Knight for a catch-up phone call. He was out, so I did "an alternative catchup", re-reading a couple of his recent BioDesign newsletters. That's how malaria and mosquito control came to my mind. Artenisia annua Graham has been in discussion with various people about the practicalities of artenisia annua. (Help needed note - at this point I'd like to have put a summary about artenisia annua and malaria, and Graham's work, plus a link...

Dadamac and me - Filling in the gaps for BenB

This is my "homework" following a Skype chat (which means that as long as it answers Ben's questions, and is framed by our Skype chat, I won't try to give additional explanations). For more context see Response to "A Theory of Community Formation" Patterns Amongst other things we touched on patterns. If there is a pattern behind this, it is the pattern of trying to capture relevant elements from chaotic emergent systems, so they can become tagged, categorised, structured, and coherent. We need to do this more effectively in order to accelerate collaborations and information sharing. Sharing knowledge We need...

Adult literacy in Kadarko - starting October 2013

John Dada wrote "We have been requested to provide evening adult literacy classes. We expect that there will be a greater demand for this service than we can meet when we plan to start in October." - see Summer School in Kadarko . He mentioned this in our weekly Dadmac UK-Nigeria online meeting today. As an ex-infant teacher I was quickly playing with possibilities in my mind, so I've made these notes, and we can discuss the ideas together before the classes start in October. The school l haven't been to the school in Kadarko, but I know many poorly...

Pages