This is an archive of the Dadamac.net website, as it was in 2015, it is no longer being updated.

Pamela's Blog

More on Cisco and Rural Training Centre

Thanks to spreading the word via Tuttle last week Cisco people are now interested in finding out more about the threatened Cisco acadamy in rural Nigeria (see Help needed to save Rural Training Centre - do you know anyone in Cisco? John Dada has been asked for additional information by Cisco in Nigeria, and the situation has been clarified. We still don't know what the outcome will be, but we remain hopeful. Cisco and underserved communities - good news and bad news Cisco has a policy of assisting underserved communities. It was this policy that helped John Dada to establish...

Help needed to save Rural Training Centre - do you know anyone in Cisco?

We need help from someone who knows someone in Cisco.Please spread the word. Due to some kind of administrative error and confusion the future life chances of 23 youths in rural Nigeria are threatened. The problem The youths are on a Cisco training course at Fantsuam, where successful training has been taking place, against all the odds, since 2004. Now this amazing centre, which should be the jewel in the crown of Cisco CSR faces closure due to an administrative error. The equipment needed for training the youths needs upgrading. However, due to some communication confusions the rural centre is...

UK Free University Network

Interesting news via Fred Garnett about Gary Saunders UK Free University Network. Relevant to recent blogs on Experiences of Invisible College in Action and Learning - Invisible College, Virtual Academia and Established Academia ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ I am currently working on a public map that offers a counter-cartography to mainstream higher education (see link: http://goo.gl/maps/V7yrC ). This counter-cartography is part of a militant/-research project that is attempting to link groups that are thinking critically about higher education provision and offer alternative models. I have started to provide information in collaboration with some of the groups that provide free higher education, although groups...

Identity Issues and Hub Westminster Videos

Brian Griffin at Hub Westminster is encouraging all the "Hubbers" to get in the habit of making a brief video every month. The first one should say who we are, why we're at the Hub, and some good things from the previous month - and if we turn up this Wednesday Brian'll help us to make it. Hence these thoughts about the kind of thing I might say. Who am I? I'm a social innovator and analyst, and I work in collaboration with others under the name of Dadamac. On a practical level I've got a good track record of...

Learning - Invisible College, Virtual Academia and Established Academia

1 - What and how I've been using the Internet for non-forrmal, peer-to-peer learning and collaboration since 2000. I'm not just interested in what I'm learning. I'm also deeply interested in how I learn i.e. the opportunites that have been opening up thanks to the Internet. I care about inclusion, about the impact (actual and potential) of digital technologies on the roles of teachers and learners, the opportunities for knowledge creation, and much more besides. I don't just "care" about these things. I do stuff, I think deeply about what I do, and I explore ideas with others. 2 -...

Mike Gurstein - WSIS +10 - and me

Mike Gurstein recently blogged on " World Summit on the Information Society: Looking Back and Looking Forward: My Comments To a WSIS +10 Review Plenary " It got me thinking, and prompted this response: Thank you Mike. Once again you are speaking in an arena where I never go - and you are speaking of "realities" that "people there" often seem distanced from - realities that are on my heart and reflect my experiences. Ref - reputable bodies including some attending the Review are claiming that the Digital Divide and issues of Digital Inclusion have been resolved and most notably...

Experiences of Invisible College in Action

Dougald Hine has been talking about the “Invisible College” that’s growing around the edges of our education systems. I have been a free-range learner who is also enabling others to learn outside the formal system since around 2000, so I found much to appreciate in what he was saying. Dougald's talk A Storm is Blowing from Paradise is about the future role of universities, but he begins with a much wider overview of how things are changing. These are ideas he's been developing for some time, and as I've been influenced by his thinking I'm delighted to have so much...

#LandscapeOfChange and Dadamacademy's "Art and Change Department"

Landscape of Change is starting to demonstrate its usefulness, through the variety of people who are starting to "meet me there" in their imaginations.This is the story of one of them In "What's the Good of Landscape of Change?" I explained that: It enables me to bring together in my imagination many different individuals, initiatives, institutions, ideas and trends. I can "place" them all in this "Landscape of Change" which I picture as a largely unexplored landscape stretching ahead from the familiar places of the known Landscape of the Present that is already easily represented through photos and maps. As...

The Great Cauldron of Story and the Landscape of Change

I've been listening appreciatively to The Great Cauldron of Story - and why fairy tales are for adults again (guided there by a couple of my co-explorers in the Landscape of Change). In addition to the podcast there is a quick, visual representation overview of some key ideas in Sketchnotes: Maria Tatar on Fairy Tales and the Going Back to the Fireside In Section 9 - All kinds of people needed in What's the Good of Landscape of Change? I wrote: In the artistic area I see artists - musicians, visual artists, storytellers, dramatists and more, creating artistic expressions of...

Thought dancing

Thought-dancing is like real physical dancing in the way that some people love to do it, and some people don't - and that's fine. Like "real dancing" thought-dancing is best experienced rather than described, but I'm going to try anyway. I'm going to describe the kind of thought-dancing that I do with the partner who led me to think of the term. It's not a discussion, It's something more expressive, exploratory and free-form. Choreographing with text I usually meet my thought-dancing partner on Skype, and we tend to use text. Text is great because of the way it naturally generates...

Pages