This is an archive of the Dadamac.net website, as it was in 2015, it is no longer being updated.

Pamela's Blog

Looking back at 2012 and forward to 2013

2012 has been a year of great changes for Dadamac in many interrelated ways: some visible, some invisible, some internal, some external. I won't try to tell those stories now, I won't even refer to them all except to say that I expect to revisit some in detail in 2013. The stories As I revisit the stories and themes in my thoughts, I will do some 'thinking aloud". Some of that thinking aloud will probably emerge as blogs - or stories. If I do write them then they will grow out of what happened in 2012 and further back. I...

Moving out, moving in and moving on

Dadamac is an ongoing exploration, and Dadamac.net is part of that exploration, so things are always moving and changing. As a result some things are moving out of this space, and some new things are moving in. First stage of Dadamac.net I started this online space - Dadamac.net - with Nikki Fishman. The main idea behind it was to make John Dada's work more visible. I won't discuss now the reasons why, or what worked and didn't work, and what we discovered in the process - but maybe I'll cover some of that in future. What we have here now...

Another Lovely Wednesday

Today was a gem. It followed my current Normal Wednesday pattern . Unplugged today included a mix of "regulars" and people who discovered Unplugged via Redrawing the Maps . Our discussion started with a diagram by Anthony McCann, and bounced off into explorations of play, experimentation, using our senses, science, philosphy/psychology of identity, roles, cultural stereotypes, learning through play and playfulness, how that kind of learning can/could/shoud/does apply to us as adults as well as children. After Unplugged is a good time fo rme to meet people. Today my meeting was with Julliet Makhapila. She has just done a great...

My Trade School Session - Tuesday November 20th

Tuesday Nov 20th 2012, I'm doing a Trade School session called "Finding Your Way in a Rapidly Changing World" (from 6:00pm to 7:00pm at 1st floor, New Zealand House, London) I've just been reminding myself exactly what I plan to cover - and also discovering what the participants are offering me in return. I have no idea who the participants are and I had forgotten what I'd asked for. Reading the list of "trades" I've felt like a child handling a bumpy Christmas stocking - getting a good idea of what's there - soon to take a closer look and...

CDE, Alternative Academia, and me.

I have benefitted greatly, in my thinking and knowledge, through attending the lunchtime seminars organised by CDE (the Centre for Distance Education) at London University. This week it was a workshop: Finding and Evaluating Open Educational Resources. If the topic of OERs interests you then the link is well worth clicking. It includes a useful slide share of the presentation that happened before we did our practical. Definition If you want a good definintion of OERs see slide 3. I was glad to see it includes the wonderfully wide ranging "resourcss contained in digital media collections from around the world"...

CDE, Alternative Academia, and me.

I have benefitted greatly, in my thinking and knowledge, through attending the lunchtime seminars organised by CDE (the Centre for Distance Education) at London University. This week it was a workshop: Finding and Evaluating Open Educational Resources. If the topic of OERs interests you then the link is well worth clicking. It includes a useful slide share of the presentation that happened before we did our practical. Definition If you want a good definintion of OERs see slide 3. I was glad to see it includes the wonderfully wide ranging "resourcss contained in digital media collections from around the world"...

CDE, Alternative Academia, and me.

I have benefitted greatly, in my thinking and knowledge, through attending the lunchtime seminars organised by CDE (the Centre for Distance Education) at London University. This week it was a workshop: Finding and Evaluating Open Educational Resources. If the topic of OERs interests you then the link is well worth clicking. It includes a useful slide share of the presentation that happened before we did our practical. Definition If you want a good definintion of OERs see slide 3. I was glad to see it includes the wonderfully wide ranging "resourcss contained in digital media collections from around the world"...

Dadamac Meetups in London

The Dadamac Meetups (face-to-face meetings) happen in London. The focus of our meeupts is our rapidly changing world (especially, but not only, the world of work). The emphasis is on being "stronger together" as we face an uncertain future. The connection between the London group and other Dadamac initiatives will become clear with time. I won't explainin it now. I will simply introduce the meetups and some of the people. New members are welcome. Most of the information below - and much more - can be found at Dadamac Meetups but I'm pulling some out to give you a flavour...

Dadamac Community, Network and Team - who is included?

Dadamac is made up of a continually developing group of people with the founders John Dada and Pamela McLean (me) at the heart of it. A collective noun - not a list When people are connecting with each other it is helpful to talk about "us" and "we". It would be crazy to keep having to make a list of names of people who are invovled at any particular time. It's much easier to have a collectve noun that includes everyone. Ours is usually "the Dadamac Community". Different people get involved with Dadamac at different times for different reasons -...

Bringing more of Dadamac UK and elsewhere to Dadamac.net

In the coming weeks and months we will be developing a wider view of Dadamac here at Dadamac.net, building on our experience so far. We started to experiment with this www.dadamac.net online space about three years ago. Our experimenting is best understood from an integrated ICT4Ed&D viewpoint (ICT4Ed&D = Information and Communication Technology for Education and Development) Information From an "Information" viewpoint, we wanted to provide online information about the initiatives and people that we value. We were especially concerned to raise the visibility of John Dada's work at Fantsuam in Nigeria. That is where our initial focus has been...

Pages