This is an archive of the Dadamac.net website, as it was in 2015, it is no longer being updated.

Pamela's Blog

Reflections on employment, a TV programme and a guru.

A TV programme in 2011 was a turning point for me. The programme followed a familiar format. There were four participants, all facing similar difficult situations. They were shown struggling on their own; a guru offered advice; they acted on it. When the credits rolled a voiceover updated us on their situations a few months later. This is an account of what happened as I watched the programme, and what I did as a result. First I'll describe the programme itself and how I responded to it. Later I'll write about the action I took, progress so far, and what...

2011 - Dadamac and Dadamacademy - asking questions and exploring answers

I tend to ask questions. When my Dad read us bed-time stories one of my favourites was about the Elephant's Child - who: "asked questions about everything that he saw, or heard, or felt, or smelt, or touched, and all his uncles and his aunts spanked him. And still he was full of 'satiable curtiosity!" ` Like the Elephants Child I pestered my many uncles and aunts with endless questions. As an adult the Open Univeristy increased my confidence and ability to "ask questions" and find things out. In particular the systems course that I did helped me to see...

Diary Dates for December 2011

My December diary - heading towards the Christmas break and the close of the year. It's a varied collection of diary dates - and I hope during 2012 it may become more obvious how all these things are connected with each other. Thursday 1st - GlobalNet21 webinar - Supporting Local Groups and Activists - Given that I'm developing "Landscape of Change" workshops that will feed into collaboration groups (and those groups will be active in their local communities) I appreciate learning more about community organisations. Monday 5th - Eirenicon Africa Public Lecture Series inaugural lecture by Dr. Kayode Fayemi, Governor...

Moving on

Hi David Time to move on. We've been playing with the idea of exploring the future together through open letters, for three months. I haven't yet written a reply to the last open letter you posted but our paths have crossed several times since you wrote it. So this post is to tidy up our open letter experiment and bring in some conclusions from our recent meetings and conversations elsewhere. Setting the scene Let me set the scene for this post - probably the final post of the first stage of our journey into the future together. This was a...

2nd half of November in UK

A quick skim through my diary for the second half of November shows: Thursday 17th and 18th - SHINE UnConference Monday 21st - Globalnet21 Meetup - Crisis In Care and its Impact On All Our Futures Thusday 24th - Dadamac Meetup - Stronger together - entrepreneurs and collaboration Saturday 26th - TEDx Euston (Nigerian event in London) Monday 28th - The Feeling’s Mutual: Is it time for STEPPING OUT of the public sector? Tuesday 29th - Globalnet21 Meetup - Making Social Media Work To Achieve a Purpose

Two weeks into November in the UK

November 15th - half way through the month. So what's happened so far? A quick skim through my diary shows:. Tuesdays 1st and 8th - First and second in Viany Gupta'' series on 'Futures we Deserve" at his Tuesday evening "Truth and Beauty" evenings at the Westminster Hub. Weds 2nd and 9th - regular UK-Nigeria meeings. Thurs 4th - First Thursday, combined with Dadamac Day (where I was helped by David Pinto). Initially I'd booked to go to "I'll Have What She's Having" at RSA http://www.eventbrite.com/event/2280005558 but decided it might be a problem if Dadmac Day went on too long...

How are we doing at dadamac.net?

When we started the dadamac.net site our first priorities included: raising the visibility of our work in Nigeria, demonstrating the effectiveness of our UK-Nigeria collaboration, finding out about using Drupal for Dadamac's information (both publicly visible information and also information hidden behind the scenes for internal use) setting up effective administrative structures developing an "online home" for the various activities of the dadamac community. We're happy (but not complacent) with what we've achieved regarding 1,2 ,3 and 4. We've made good progress and have created a useful body of evidence about our UK-Nigeria work. All kinds of things have emerged...

Zipping the bags

Pamela McLean and David Pinto: An Exploration of the future through a mixture of fact and fiction. Hi David, I can understand your impatience to be started on our journey. I'm bad at packing. I spread out everything that I might need, and struggle to decide what to leave behind. I've seen advice that you should pack half of the stuff you think you'll need and take double the money. I'm sure it's good advice - assuming you can afford to double the money, and that there will be shops… I'm never really ready to travel. It just becomes nearly...

University-level learning and knowledge-sharing

This post is prompted by The University Project and an invitation to share personal experiences Let's make room for sharing our own experiences of university - as students, academics, parents, people who never went to university - and of the other places in which we've found a home for our curiosity and company in our learning. It prompted me to think about my own experiences: I haven't been to a traditional university. I did an Open University degree which stretched my mind and altered my thinking, while relating strongly to my "real life". My ongoing nonformal studies complement what I...

ICT4D - a different kind of application

When i saw a request for information on the ICT4D Facebook group, I wanted to point to Dadamac and Fantsuam Foundation (FF) - but simply pointing isn't really enough - an explanation is needed. The request was from Jam Gonzaga - It said "does any of you has a link about how ICT4D is applied in the various sectors associated with development undertakings." Regarding "the various sectors associated with development undertakings" Fantsuam Foundation is involved in most sectors of development. This is because it is embedded in its local community - and that is why "it does everything". It's a...

Pages