This is an archive of the Dadamac.net website, as it was in 2015, it is no longer being updated.

Pamela's Blog

What's the Good of Landscape of Change?

"What's Landscape of Change anyway?" one of my friends asked when I said I was pleased with its recent progress, and then failed to explain coherently what the progress was. When I couldn't answer the simple "What is it?" question he tried to help by narrowing it down. "What good is Landscape of Change?" he asked, and then, narrowing it even further, "If I was to put it in a box what kind of a box would I put it in?" Even as he asked that question he rejected it observing that, given Landscape of Change was something I was...

In response to David Pinto's question about audience.

David Pinto wrote: "As background 'research' for my book I sought out a film I have seen a while back, Two For The Money, with Al Pacino. Great movie, in my opinion (snip). However, the film didn't do that well, and the critical response is poor, at least from the IMDB site . SO I am definitely out of sorts with mainstream opinion. Does that mean I am wrong in my viewing of the film? Was the particular line the director and writer and actors took, wrong? Clearly it was, in terms of mainstream engagement, which presumably was their target...

Explorers Emerging in Landscape of Change

I've found some other "explorers" this week. I've discovered that I simply need to ask. Introducing the idea When my ideas about the "Landscape of Change" started to emerge, all I wanted from people was feedback on the reality and usefulness of the concept. It didn't take me long to discover that the concept did make sense - but then I wasn't sure what to do about it. That was back in 2011. Personal explorations In some ways all the work I've done since 2011 has been part of my personal explorations of the Landscape of Change (LofC). I've also...

Celebrating my crazy-sane friends and contacts

This is an appreciation and celebration of the crazy-sane people I know. I'm not naming any - but I'm reflecting on them. I'm exploring facets of their personalities, considering why I include them in the category of crazy-sane, what I mean by it, and why I treasure them. Unreasonable people The "crazy-sanes" I know are "unreasonable" people. I don't mean that they lack reason (some are full of reason and logical thought). I mean unreasonable in the sense of the George Bernard Shaw quote: The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt...

Reflections on directions

If things happen in an emergent kind of way then every now and again it's a good idea to reflect on what's emerging. Two phone calls this morning provide pointers. The connecting theme is simply my own learning journey and how it illustrates and informs my ideas about deep patterns of change. One call was from Jemima Gibbons of FRSA London Reboot. The other was from Francis Sealey, of GlobalNet21 meetups. Exploring the Landscape of Change Jemima Gibbon's call was about FRSA London Reboot 2: Stimulate, Expand, Amplify! on Wednesday, 27 February 2013. I've been invited to do one of...

Good Wednesday - Unplugged, Civil Society Forum, Secret Conversations.

Wednesday morning offers a midweek oasis at "Everything Unplugged". Tony Hall and I once decided that it is our slightly time-shifted version of an evening visit to "the local" in an ideal world. Unplugged is where we're confident of finding good conversation and friendly faces - with the exact mix of friendly faces being unpredictable. (See Dadamac's useful links for more on Everything Unplugged and other references in this post) Anyone who spends much time working alone knows the value of getting the right mixture of "doing the work" and "getting the right social vitamins". I find that conversation, with...

Dadamac Learning - Acrobats and Etherpads

Ken Owino of Nafsi Acrobats said: ".... learning from your experiences we employed the use of Etherpad as a virtual space through which participants of our "CUlture Of ARts " project drawn from Denmark and Kenya, could meet and have cross- cultural discuassions ... We had a facebook page where we archived the meetings notes and kept all participants updated ..... ICT has really been instrumental in my advancement . i must admit that i have l earnt much virtually . Most the lessons learnt i did not get them from the physical classroom ." Ken told us this at...

Dadamac learners - following in Nikki's footsteps

This weekend I've been doing some "distance teaching" to two potential Dadamac bloggers. Fortunately both of them are in the UK, so I didn't have to rely on text for the teaching - we were able to use good old fashioned phone calls. Nikki's successor Blogging regularly is a great way to share stories from the people in Dadmacs's network. For over three years Nikki blogged about the UK-Nigeria meetings, with all its news from in and around Fantsuam, and we are missing her. Last week her successor emerged. During our regular skype (text only) UK-Nigeria meeting I asked for...

An encouraging couple of days

1 - Life is a bit of a roller coaster. On Tuesday I came home discouraged and seriously considering the human equivalent of spinning a cocoon, abandonning my present life-form identity, turning into crysalis soup, and not emerging again until I had turned into something completely different. Today things have bounced up again. 2 - Lost in a landscape of change My discomfort was related to how I see the world - and its uncertainties - and our stumbling explorations in this landscape of change. The confusion was about the ongoing dance between connections and disconnections, overlapping interests and apparently...

Call for help in exploring the landscape of change

Today I tweeted "I'm looking for fellow explorers, map makers, and social media people to help me map out the #LandscapeOfChange Pls RT" I believe we live in such rapdily changing times that many of us have to find our own way - because there are no well trodden paths to follow. So we are all explorers, making our own little forays out into this unknown landscape of change. As explorers we all have our own travellers tales, our useful experiences, our "rough guide" information and insights. If we share them then we can help each other. The better we...

Pages