This is an archive of the Dadamac.net website, as it was in 2015, it is no longer being updated.

Pamela's Blog

First Thursday - sharing the May archive

"First Thursdays" are informal online meetings. This blog post is an experiment in sharing some of our discussions more widely. Introductions As people arrive we introduce outselves. These are the May introductions, in the order that people wrote them: Pamela McLean - UK using laptop at home. In the "Dadamac" collaboration I'm the "mac" part of the name Dadamac. I'm exploring how the Internet can help us to collaborate and learn - especially learning-by-doing and learning-from-each-other http://dadamac.net/ Jeff LaHay - Minneapolis, MN USA using desktop and high speed DSL from work. My colleague Fran and I train people to assemble...

#LandscapeOfChange Pioneers - Michel Bauwens, Alastair Parvin and Yaacov Hecht

I see the people who are exploring practical ideas about our present and future as people who are living the lives of explorers in the Landscape of Change. I mean that they are explorers and trailblazers in the areas of life which are uncertain and changing. The areas of uncertainly are increasinlgy becoming a reality in the lives of many people, who would never have chosen to explore them. The explorers are going abead of the crowd, and the directions that they take become like beaten tracks across the Landscape of Change. When they explain about what they are doing...

Kazanka Comfort Of Fantsuam Foundation - speaking tour in Canada

John Dada sent news today about Kazanka Comfort, who was for many years the general secretary of Fantsuam Foundation's micro-finance programme and involved in all other programmes. He wrote: VSO/CUSO have sponsored Comfort to a Women leaders course in Canada and this has been followed by a week of speaking tour Tour details The event series, called Women Leaders in the Developing World , starts in Ottawa on May 21. These details are from the website: Women: The Face of Potential in the Developing World A panel presentation featuring women leaders from Cameroon, Guyana, Nigeria, Jamaica and Ethiopia. Come hear...

Fighting a deadly fungus

At our Dadamac UK-Nigeria meeting on May 14th John Dada mentioned that he had to rush out to the primary school just near Fantsuam Foundation to give an urgent message on maize planting this season. John explained An ongoing problem with maize growing in Nigeria is its contamination with the fungus that produces aflatoxins... FF is raising awareness on this health issue and will be providing training to farmers on preventive measures to ensure health of their maize crops.. And as you know everybody in rural Nigeria is a farmer, so we went to book an appointment so that on...

Overheard on the 227 - Thanks Michael Rosen

I read a book by Michael Rosen which illustrated that there is poetry in everyday language - if you listen out for it. So I listened - and sure enough - I heard some as I was travelling on the 227 bus. It was late on a Thursday afternoon. Two weary women were sitting in front of me, chatting to each other and I couldn't help hearing what they said. When I got off the bus I wrote down their words so I wouldn't forget. The first section was spoken by one woman; the second was the response of her...

Cost of living comparisons

I've been reading Ben De Vries' update on Facebook and the conversation following it (posted on his timeline on May 5th at approximately 8am GMT) - and found it very enlightening. It started as a comparison of costs of living in USA and Greece, then went into other realities, and explored myths such as "everyone in the USA is rich". Truth is more complex than soundbites and headlines. Real comparisons are very hard to make. The conversation reminded me of how I found it hard to explain to people in rural Nigeria that I couldn't afford to be there, away...

Cisco - Bottom-up meets top-down, sideways.

Good news on the Cisco "admin glitch"/communication problem which I wrote about previously - Help needed to save Rural Training Centre - do you know anyone in Cisco? and More on Cisco and Rural Training Centre . In those posts I explained how the little rural Cisco acadamy at Fantsuam was being treated like a normal urban unversity department, regarding the bill for an essentiail upgrade. It was thus being placed in a situation which was threatening its survival. John, as a local course provider, had problems connecting with anyone appropriate higher up the administrative chain. Through Dadamac in London...

Trivia - 2013-04-26

A friend is influencing me to bring more of myself to my writing. He suggests I should use Tumblr and write "to myself" - in a more "unthought out"' way than I usually write. I want to show him that I appreciate his opinion and suggestions, but I'm rubbish at moving into new online spaces, so I'll stay here for now. What should I write (hmm - he'll pick me up on my use of the word 'should") "Should" - that reminds me of a conversation yesterday (I'm not going to say who my conversations are with - I don't...

Social innovators, social entrepreneurs, and working "for free"

As I see it I'm a social innovator - but not yet a social entrepreneur. Given that "social entrepreneurship" is a comparatively recent concept, its meaning is still somewhat fluid. I'll therefore explain how I'm using these terms for the purpose of this extended blog, and what I mean by the difference. Then I'll explore some organisational models, including ones where people work "for free", and see what lessons I can learn. 1 - Innovation and enterprise - similarities and differences As I understand it, both social innovators and social entrepreneurs address social issues (i.e. people-related issues) in creative and...

GlobalNet21 as a Learning Environment

GlobalNet21(GN21) has many facets and attracts people for many different reasons. The GlobalNet21 Network & Development Meeting was an opportunity for the informal learning network group to involve others, so I was sharing ideas about seeing GN21 as a learning community. The scope of GN21 is best discovered through its website (GlobalNet21 - The Global Public Square - Recreating Our Futures… ) and through a quick exploration of its meetup site . GN21 is a treasure trove for any free-range learner with an interest in our present and future lives, on a personal level, or on a community level -...

Pages