This is an archive of the Dadamac.net website, as it was in 2015, it is no longer being updated.

Pamela's Blog

Week ending Dec 3rd

So much happening, so little time to write. Streaming Learning and Sharing Last Thursday, November 29th. Franz Nahrada held a skype planning meeting for the January video bridge, Streaming Learning and Sharing workshop http://twurl.nl/hlkeqy . I was there with other participants. it was our first online meeting. Developing Technologies Friday, November 30th - Meeting with Femi Longe (Africa Plus Plus and New Ideas for Africa)and Ron Bridges ( www.developing technologies.org ) at City University. That meeting ties in with our recycling plastic project. Tuttle Friday mornings is Tuttle club - so I called in on my way to the meeting...

Week ending Dec 3rd

So much happening, so little time to write. Streaming Learning and Sharing Last Thursday, November 29th. Franz Nahrada held a skype planning meeting for the January video bridge, Streaming Learning and Sharing workshop http://twurl.nl/hlkeqy . I was there with other participants. it was our first online meeting. Developing Technologies Friday, November 30th - Meeting with Femi Longe (Africa Plus Plus and New Ideas for Africa)and Ron Bridges ( www.developing technologies.org ) at City University. That meeting ties in with our recycling plastic project. Tuttle Friday mornings is Tuttle club - so I called in on my way to the meeting...

Defining the space

As I look around this online space I see potential that reminds me of childhood visits to the new homes of my many uncles and aunties. I adored my uncles. In my eyes they were big, strong, fun-filled heroes to whom nothing was impossible. When their cars broke down (as, in those days, cars frequently did) they fixed them. If their new home didn't have a bathroom, they put one in. If a door was in the wrong place they moved it - the same with cupboards and walls and windows. They transformed poky little sculleries into shiny kitchens. They...

Conversations

Hi Vijay I enjoyed our online chat the other day. You suggested we should share it - but I protested that I had made too many typos. Now you have edited them out and sent it to me - so here it is for anyone to see. Andy suggested including it in our Open Letters. Later, if we get more conversations we can bring them together somewhere. I like the title you chose: The Strength of Dadamac.net

Conversations

Hi Vijay I enjoyed our online chat the other day. You suggested we should share it - but I protested that I had made too many typos. Now you have edited them out and sent it to me - so here it is for anyone to see. Andy suggested including it in our Open Letters. Later, if we get more conversations we can bring them together somewhere. I like the title you chose: The Strength of Dadamac.net

Dadamac Day at BarCamp Africa and in Nigeria

Dadamac Day 2009 was a new and exciting extension of our annual online celebration. Usually it is pretty much "a family affair" - reuniting people who already know each other. This time we widened our reach, both in the UK and in rural Nigeria, so there were extra guests at the celebration. Audio and video There were exciting audio and video connections too. During the year we are limited by bandwidth, and the core groups communicate by typing. But for Dadamac Day - when we all get together - special arrangements are made and there is usually more bandwidth available...

Climate change, peak oil, special interest groups

Hi Vijay. You were thinking about climate change, its impact on Africa, and the reliability of forecasters. We don't have any current Dadamac project or Special Interest Group (SIG) related to climate change, but that doesn't mean that we couldn't have one. Dadamac is concerned with using the Internet to help people rub minds and learn from each other - especially people who could never have connected with each other before the Internet existed. Two people can start a group If at least two people want to rub minds on something that seems relevant to Dadamac then we can start...

Open Source Hardware Community

Dadamac network is wider than our website shows. I wrote this email to the globalvillages and learnhowtolearn yahoo groups to introduce some of my contacts there to Dadamac. Copying it here can, in turn, help to point Dadamac people to those yahoo groups: Several emails recently at globalvillages and learnhowtolearn have mentioned the need for people in the Open Source Hardware Community to have somewhere to try things out. I think particularly of Franz Nahrada's response to Lawrence Kincheloe's" Musings Upon the Nature of Open Source Hardware as a Business", and also of Marcin Jakubowski's Open Tractor (and some discussion...

Renewable energy initiatives

Hi Vijay I enjoyed reading your blog. it seems that we do share the same concerns and have similar ideas. The ideas of technology transfer and of investing in renewable energy initiatives are dear to my heart (and got some mention in my blog "Pam - we want street lights" ) so I was interested to read about the President of Maldives Mohamed Nasheed, and especially his comments that: The Western countries cannot ask "dynamically fast developing" countries like India not to produce or consume energy in order to control carbon emissions. The better option for the rich countries is...

Africa, India, MDGs

Hi Vijay Thank you for your open letter today directing our attention to Nobel prize winner Elinor Ostrom and her work to show that privatising natural resources is not the answer for stemming environmental degradation. I also appreciate the fact that you have introduced the issue of Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) For me your blog was a strong reminder that there is great overlap between the problems of India and Africa (so it is good that you have brought an Indian perspective to add to Dadamac's usual African concerns). I was especailly struck by the comment that "FAO says Asia...

Pages