This is an archive of the Dadamac.net website, as it was in 2015, it is no longer being updated.

Pamela's Blog

Dadamac beyond Nigeria

Usually Wednesday morning is dominated by the UK-Nigeria online team meeting - but today we are getting close to Christmas so there is no meeting and I am taking time to think about Dadamac beyond Nigeria, and about including more of my wider network (present and future) here at www.dadamac.net . Dadamac.net online community The idea behind dadamac.net is that it will be less like a website, and more like an online "home/office/meeting-place/study-space/club/whatever-we-want-it-to-be" for people (present and future) who are connected with Dadamac ideas and activities. I am still cautious of using the term "Dadamac community" beyond the core group...

Monitoring air and water quality

Hi Vijay I am so pleased you have started to come to the worknets chat room for our meetings on the first Thursdays of the month and that you are getting to know my friend and teacher Andrius Kulikauskas . I noticed that you mentioned your project to him - where you said " right now i am working on a project monitoring air and water quality in Indian cities and towns:: the idea of this project is to empower citizens with crucial information about air and water quality (24x7)". (Andrius copied to the Holistic Helping group what you said...

Issues ref Developing-Country Livestock

Hi Vijay Given your interest in food security and wider issues surrounding it you may like to see this video about Climate Food and Developing-Country Livestock Farmers ILRI film: In my mind it connects with John's vision for a model farm development at Attachab Eco-village and why it is important to develop models of good practice and effective ways to share them. Of course at Fantusam Foudation many initiatives are inter-related, so this is also relevant to the idea Cicely was promoting for helping farmers through the Internet services provided by Zittnet . (You may remember this idea and our...

Issues ref Developing-Country Livestock

Hi Vijay Given your interest in food security and wider issues surrounding it you may like to see this video about Climate Food and Developing-Country Livestock Farmers ILRI film: In my mind it connects with John's vision for a model farm development at Attachab Eco-village and why it is important to develop models of good practice and effective ways to share them. Of course at Fantusam Foudation many initiatives are inter-related, so this is also relevant to the idea Cicely was promoting for helping farmers through the Internet services provided by Zittnet . (You may remember this idea and our...

The Googlenet has you

Hi Vijay I think that anyone in 21st century who is interested in studying development (as you are) must also be interested in the development of ICT (as you obviously are, given your input to Dadamac.net) You might like to read The Googlenet has you By Martin J Young published in the online Asia Times. I confess I am a Google user and would now be in serious trouble without it. I avoided it at first because I didn't like the "big brother" feel of using Google - but then.. well... Google mail was so useful... and then sharing docs...

Visiting Fantsuam

Hi Vijay I'm delighted you are interested in visiting Africa. Somehow I had assumed that (as you live in India and you are interested in development) your main interest would be development in India. It is much easier for me to support you as a Dadamac Learner and have discussions with you, and send you items to read etc, if I only need to think of relevance to Africa, or world-wide (rather than wondering if there is any relevance to India).

Learning and resources

Hi Vijay I've been been thinking about my ongoing learning journey over the weekend, and wrote about the thinking behind Dadamac Learners Resources - including some for you I've also started to collect up some resources including two articles I saw today which may be of interest to you. I think this one has something of "the feel" of being involved in activities at Fantsuam (but I have only skim read the very beginning). Mechanics vs. motivation: The two faces of social innovation It seems to capture the energy and enthusiasm of doing things - and the desire people have...

Learning and resources

Hi Vijay I've been been thinking about my ongoing learning journey over the weekend, and wrote about the thinking behind Dadamac Learners Resources - including some for you I've also started to collect up some resources including two articles I saw today which may be of interest to you. I think this one has something of "the feel" of being involved in activities at Fantsuam (but I have only skim read the very beginning). Mechanics vs. motivation: The two faces of social innovation It seems to capture the energy and enthusiasm of doing things - and the desire people have...

Marcus Update and Sharing Resources

A quick update before too much of the week shoots past. I did meet Marcus Simmons at Tuttle on Friday, and later we went to City University to meet Ron Dennis. It was a continuation of the converstation Ron, Femi Longe and I had last week, regarding Nigeria, recyling plastics and other shared interests. Marcus and I also spent a lot of time transferring his photos and videos to my hard drive, finding the most relevant ones to share, making breif notes, and trying not to be drawn into detail until all that was done. We discovered that we both...

Marcus Update and Sharing Resources

A quick update before too much of the week shoots past. I did meet Marcus Simmons at Tuttle on Friday, and later we went to City University to meet Ron Dennis. It was a continuation of the converstation Ron, Femi Longe and I had last week, regarding Nigeria, recyling plastics and other shared interests. Marcus and I also spent a lot of time transferring his photos and videos to my hard drive, finding the most relevant ones to share, making breif notes, and trying not to be drawn into detail until all that was done. We discovered that we both...

Pages