This is an archive of the Dadamac.net website, as it was in 2015, it is no longer being updated.

Pamela's Blog

Pam - we want street lights!

Today, bloggers world wide are thinking about climate change as part of blog action day - and I am reminded of a conversation I had with a security man one dark night on a compound in rural Nigeria. I was admiring the stars. He was surprised. I explained that here in the UK I live on a main road; I need thick curtains in the bedroom to keep out the street lighting; light pollution hides all but the brightest of stars. He said he had previously met an American woman, also admiring the stars. She had said something similar but...

Pam - we want street lights!

Today, bloggers world wide are thinking about climate change as part of blog action day - and I am reminded of a conversation I had with a security man one dark night on a compound in rural Nigeria. I was admiring the stars. He was surprised. I explained that here in the UK I live on a main road; I need thick curtains in the bedroom to keep out the street lighting; light pollution hides all but the brightest of stars. He said he had previously met an American woman, also admiring the stars. She had said something similar but...

Africa Gathering, Business Fights Poverty, and more

Things are getting very busy here, and it is hard to share it all as much as I would like to do. I hope that (once more of Dadamac's activities have "moved in" to this single online space that is dadamac.net ) life will get simpler and it will be easier for everyone to know what is going on. A couple of years ago I hardly ever went to any face to face events connected with my Dadamac interests (back before Dadamac developed out of Cawdnet). I simply worked away online - or went on working holidays to Africa. Now...

Hand Held Learning and Ago-Are, rural Nigeria.

Folabi (Fola) Sunday teaches in a primary school in rural Nigeria - a motor-cycle ride away from Ago-Are, in Oyo State. He is a Dadamac Self Directed Learner, who keeps in contact with the "connected community" through his phone, and joins in First Thursday chats whenever he can. Fola is currently learning more about ICT and solar energy from Ricardo and Graham (in the UK) and others in Minciu Sodas and Dadamac, through chats and emails. This post gives an introduction to Fola and his current concerns as discussed at the October First Thursday chat. He is working on a...

Hand Held Learning and Ago-Are, rural Nigeria.

Folabi (Fola) Sunday teaches in a primary school in rural Nigeria - a motor-cycle ride away from Ago-Are, in Oyo State. He is a Dadamac Self Directed Learner, who keeps in contact with the "connected community" through his phone, and joins in First Thursday chats whenever he can. Fola is currently learning more about ICT and solar energy from Ricardo and Graham (in the UK) and others in Minciu Sodas and Dadamac, through chats and emails. This post gives an introduction to Fola and his current concerns as discussed at the October First Thursday chat. He is working on a...

Hand Held Learning and Ago-Are, rural Nigeria.

Folabi (Fola) Sunday teaches in a primary school in rural Nigeria - a motor-cycle ride away from Ago-Are, in Oyo State. He is a Dadamac Self Directed Learner, who keeps in contact with the "connected community" through his phone, and joins in First Thursday chats whenever he can. Fola is currently learning more about ICT and solar energy from Ricardo and Graham (in the UK) and others in Minciu Sodas and Dadamac, through chats and emails. This post gives an introduction to Fola and his current concerns as discussed at the October First Thursday chat. He is working on a...

Sam, Fishing and more

Hi Vijay. Welcome back and thanks for sharing interesting news about your trip. I feel I know you better since that letter. You mention fishing, and that prompts me to introduce you to my friend Samwel who lives near Lake Victoria and is also concerned about declining fish stocks. Sam was at First Thursday today, and his concerns featured strongly in our chat. You can see the full chat here in the worknets archive. However is it quite hard work to read all through a two hour chat, so I have also saved it as a google doc here, and...

Franz Nahrada and SSL workshop

Thank you Franz for sending me the information (including application form) about the workshop on "Streaming, Sharing and Learning (SSL) – The options for and the use of Interactive Digital Video over long distances in adult education". In your (personal) email you asked me to help you get the message out to the right people, and so I am replying to you through a dadamac open letter. This way it will be easy to share this with others now and later. Thank you for encouraging me to apply. I would appreciate the opportunity to do what the workshop offers and...

Email to Andy Dearden

Hi Andy This email is a progress report about organising our online academic-practitioners forum. I am publishing this email on my personal space at dadamac.net, as well as sending you a personal email, so I will briefly go over old ground before moving on.

Email to Andy Dearden

Hi Andy This email is a progress report about organising our online academic-practitioners forum. I am publishing this email on my personal space at dadamac.net, as well as sending you a personal email, so I will briefly go over old ground before moving on.

Pages